The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Series)

The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Series)

Jasper Fforde

Language: English

Pages: 375

ISBN: 0143034359

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


The third installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!

Last to Die (Rizzoli & Isles, Book 10)

Sion Crossing

The Last Thing I Remember (The Homelanders, Book 1)

Losing Face

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

without him there would be no me, but it was interesting to talk to her nonetheless. I felt wel enough to go into Caversham Heights at midday to see how Jack was getting on. 'Ah!' said Jack as I arrived. 'Just in time. I've been thinking about a reworking – do you want to have a look?' 'Go on, then.' 'Is anything the matter? You look a bit unwel .' 'I got myself pickled to the gil s last night. I'l be fine. What have you in mind?' 'Get in. I want you to meet someone.' I climbed into the Al

airship swung round with the vectored engines in reverse; once they started asking questions I'd be answering them for a long time. 'We have to go, Miss Havisham!' She sensed the urgency in my voice and beckoned for me to get in the car. Within a moment we were away from that place, car and al , back in the lobby of the Great Library. 'You're not so popular in the Outland, then?' Havisham asked, turning off the engine, which spluttered and shook to a halt, the sudden quiet a welcome break.

through the usual channels?' 'Not real y,' he retorted, 'but I'm wil ing to try anything. Speak to her, won't you?' I told him I would try but decided on the face of it that I probably wouldn't. Deane seemed pleasant enough at Jurisfiction but in The Squire of High Potternews he was a monster; dying sad, lonely and forgotten was probably just right for him – in narrative terms, anyway. I gave the tea to Miss Havisham, who broke off talking to Perkins abruptly as I approached. She gave me a

and if I were you I'd use a bigger pan, but on a lower heat.' 'Right,' I said, beginning to get annoyed, 'perhaps you'd like to cook? You've done most of the work so far.' 'No, no,' replied Gran, completely unfazed, 'you're doing fine.' There was a commotion at the door and Ibb came in, fol owed closely by Obb. 'Congratulations!' I cal ed out. 'What for?' asked Ibb, who was looking surprisingly different to Obb. For a start, Obb was at least four inches tal er and its hair was darker than

outside as he liked to do, PRO version Are you a developer? Try out the HTML to PDF API pdfcrowd.com It was the moment before the barrage began. My CO, Major Phelps, was riding on the outside as he liked to do, foolhardy idiot that he was, and to my left and right I could see the other armoured vehicles throwing up large swathes of summer dust from the parched land. We could be seen for miles. The first salvo was so unexpected that I thought the munitions in a light tank had simply ignited by

Download sample

Download