The Boleyn King: A Novel (The Boleyn Trilogy)

The Boleyn King: A Novel (The Boleyn Trilogy)

Laura Andersen

Language: English

Pages: 358

ISBN: 0345534093

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?
 
Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.
 
Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king’s desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England’s fortunes forever.
 
Includes a preview of Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn Deceit

Praise for The Boleyn King
 
“Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that’s reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read.”Historical Novels Review
 
“Andersen’s novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy.”RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)
 
“A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love.”Deseret News
 
‘What if . . .’ With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth’s lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous—and dangerous—court in Europe.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill’s Secretary
 
“Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting.”—Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating City

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

By Blood: A Novel

The Messiah of Stockholm

Orbital Decay (Near-Space, Book 1)

Armada of Antares (Dray Prescot, Book 11)

Pretty Monsters: Stories

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

reading of our stars. Only the four of us—for it would not do to let our secrets, past or future, slip into wider circulation. Despite the cold, every courtyard at Greenwich was filled and more. No one wanted to miss the rare and possibly apocalyptic sight of the moon vanishing into blackness before their eyes. Minuette had barely room to shiver beneath her fur-lined cloak, so closely were people packed on this terrace overlooking the Thames. She had managed to keep away from the royal party;

lips; a girl of fourteen somewhere in Devon, her features soft and unformed, waiting in a church for a husband she’d never met. Dominic kicked at a clump of grass and swore. Why was this so difficult? Men married every day for reasons far from romantic—for land, for family, for connections. When he’d troubled to think about it, he had assumed he would do the same. After all, his heart had never entered into his affairs before, only considerations of pleasure and good company. He had followed

sacrificing Elizabeth for. Even if Northumberland’s son, Robert Dudley, objected. The door to his privy chamber opened and William saw Dominic hesitating beyond the guards. “We’re finished,” William said. “The French treaty must be presented to the full council. But not today.” He turned away as they bowed themselves out of the room. Dominic spoke behind him. “You really shouldn’t bait them.” “Do you think my father would have put up with insolence?” “Your father wasn’t ten years old when he

pulled out a chair and said, “Would you care to join us, Uncle? I would appreciate your … insights into this matter.” “By all means.” Rochford held a chair for Elizabeth; Dominic did the same for Minuette. When they were all seated tensely around the circular table, Rochford said, “Perhaps we might begin with that message. The Penitent’s Confession—you have all been dabbling in this matter for some time, so I presume you’ve heard of it?” William nodded. “Elizabeth and I have, from Minuette.

her hair, her slender figure and steady eyes … France and his future were waiting. He knew what he must do. “Minuette.” He found himself staring at the peak of her hair, the point of gold in the perfect center of her forehead. All at once he could see his parents standing before him. He must have been little at the time, but he could recall it clearly—his tall, forbidding father reaching out one hand to smooth his wife’s dark hair in a gesture of infinite tenderness. Henry had cast off a

Download sample

Download