San Francisco's Noe Valley (Images of America)
Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub
Named for Jose de Jesus Noe, San Francisco's last Mexican mayor, Noe Valley is undoubtedly one of San Francisco's favorite neighborhoods and certainly one of the most picturesque. Yet the area has a rich and varied history reaching far beyond the lovely buildings and lively street scenes familiar to so many citydwellers. Originally part of the Rancho de San Miguel land grant, the area was incorporated into the city and became an early example of a San Francisco enclave situated away from the noise and bustle of the downtown and waterfront areas. Noe Valley gradually became an important residential and business center known for its beautifully restored Victorian homes, as well as for the vibrant commercial corridor on Twenty-fourth Street.
business in Noe Valley. Gene Tuggey sold the company to former employee Bob Giovannoli in the 1940s. Bob passed away in 1995, but the business is managed by his son Denny Giovannoli. (Photo by Bill Yenne.) Three A VISIT TO THE VALLEY In the following pages, we take a historic stroll through various parts of Noe Valley. We begin with a westward walk along the commercial corridor on Twenty-fourth Street, then branch out to the outlying areas. We close this chapter with a look at the public
Noe Valley Archives.) In the mid-1960s, Schroyer’s Flying A service station became Rich’s Phillips’s 66. By 1974, when this photograph was taken, it had become Larry’s Phillips’s 66. It would close as a gas station two years later. (Courtesy of the Noe Valley Archives.) Today, a building with a bank and two stories of residences above occupies the site at Twenty-fourth and Noe Streets that was a gas station for much of the 20th century. The last gas station closed here in 1976, but the first
hardware went on to celebrate its centennial as it entered the 21st century. (Courtesy of the Noe Valley Archives.) Several of the Victorian structures seen here at the corner of Twenty-fourth Street and Diamond Street are still there, but the one that housed Kolb’s Bakery is gone. So too are the trolley tracks, but Twin Peaks is now cloaked with residences. (Photo by Bill Yenne.) The interior of John and Lena Aleo’s market at 820 Diamond Street appears here in 1928. The well-stocked grocery
house the parish rectory as well as a novitiate of the Missionaries of Charity, the religious order founded by Mother Teresa. In 1982 she came here personally to open the facility, which is the only Missionaries of Charity novitiate in the United States. (Photo by Bill Yenne.) In this photograph taken soon after the church’s completion in 1911, the spires of St. Paul’s Church are framed against the slopes of Billy Goat Hill in the distance. Much of the stone used in the construction of St.
Jersey Street was taken on a blustery August day in 1921. The Market Street Railway Company abandoned the property in 1941, and it became a Safeway market in about 1943. Safeway had earlier operated a store a block north at the corner of Twenty-fourth Street. At the turn of the 21st century, the barn on the left was the Walgreen’s drugstore and the site of the barn on the right was a parking lot. (Courtesy of the Noe Valley Archives.) A white-fronted Castro Street cable car passes the car barns